A BOUTIQUE CAMBRIA HOTEL
Welcome to The Historic Rigdon House
The Rigdon House, located in the heart of East Village, is a historic all-suite Cambria hotel where lasting memories are inspired by rich history and relaxed hospitality.
The Building's History
The building is a famed Cambria landmark, dating back to 1880 when The Bright family originally built the structure. In 1893, the family sold the house to a local teacher and carpenter, Merritt Trace. Trace and his son, Verne, made extensive renovations to the original structure. They sold it in 1905 to Rufus and Indiana (India) Scott Rigdon. Rigdon was the towns Notary Public and Justice of the Peace. He was also the owner of a ranch northwest of town that is now part of the Fiscalini Ranch Preserve.
At this time, the Rigdons house was famous for having the first indoor bathtub in Cambria. Their son, Elmer Scott Rigdon, was elected to the California State Assembly in 1912 and then to the California State Senate two years later. Elmer Rigdon introduced the bill in 1917 to build the Coast Highway between Carmel and San Simeon. Construction of the road began in 1922.
Several owners continued to reside in the house and many renovations were made. In the late 1960s, it was converted into a restaurant, and then in the 1970s into an inn by restaurateurs, Bryan and Sylvia Hume.
Recently the house has come under new ownership where the house's vast history and authenticity has been preserved
For more History of Cambria visit The Cambria Historical Society website at >https://www.cambriahistoricalsociety.com